New York Rangers Schedule

The National Hockey League (NHL) team the New York Rangers are based out of New York City, NY. The team plays in the Eastern Conference’s Atlantic Division. The home games of the Rangers have been played in the current Madison Square Garden since 1968. In 1926, the Rangers joined the NHL as one of the expansion franchises, making them one of the NHL’s oldest teams. They are known as one of the Original Six teams, which also include the Chicago Blackhawks, Boston Bruins, Montreal Canadiens, Toronto Maple Leafs and Detroit Red Wings.

The New York Rangers were the very first U.S. NHL franchise to win a Stanley Cup. The team has won a total of four Stanley Cups, with their most recent coming in 1993-1994. The Rangers won their first Stanley Cup in 1927-1928 during just their second season in the league when they defeated the Montreal Maroons in five games. Their second Stanley Cup victory came in 1932-1933 when they defeated the Toronto Maple Leafs in four games. The Rangers won their third Cup in 1939-1940 by beating the Toronto Maples Leafs again in six games. It would be 54 years before the Rangers would win anther Stanley Cup. In 1993-1994, the Rangers defeated the Vancouver Canucks in seven games to win their fourth Stanley Cup.