New York Islanders Schedule

The National Hockey League (NHL) team the New York Islanders are based out of Uniondale, New York. The team plays in the Eastern Conference’s Atlantic Division. There are three NHL franchises from the metropolitan area of New York City, including the Islanders, New York Rangers and New Jersey Devils. The Islanders and Rangers rivalry is called Battle of New York.

In 1972, the team was established during the NHL’s 1972-1973 season, partially as a bid for keeping the World Hockey Association (a rival hockey league) away from Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum, home of the Islanders since they had been established. From 1980 through 1983, the Islanders won the Stanley Cup championship four times in a row. It is one of the NHL’s nine dynasties that they recognize in their history. According to several experts, the New York Islanders future depends on how successful the development plan is for the Lighthouse Project, which includes the Islanders getting a new arena. The last time the team won a series in the playoffs was during the NHL’s 1992-1993 season.

There are eight former Islanders who are members of Hockey Hall of Fame. Bryan Trottier, Bill Torrey, Billy Smith, Denis Potvin, Clark Gillies, Mike Bossy and Al Arbour played on all four of the Islanders teams that won the Stanley Cup. Their most recent inductee is Pat LaFontaine, who was inducted in 2003.